MLS  Major League SoccerMLSMLS


MLS Standings

MLS Schedule

MLS Directory

MLS Champions

Major League Soccer

Lassiter gives D.C. United 1-0 decision over MetroStars; McBride’s late goal powers Columbus over Mutiny 3-2.

EAST RUTHERFORD, N.J. (Saturday, April 3, 1999) -- Roy Lassiter scored early in the second half to give D.C. United a 1-0 victory over the MetroStars before 20,978 tonight at Giants Stadium.

Lassiter, who has now found net 14 times in 16 career games against the MetroStars, beat goalkeeper Mike Ammann on a breakaway in the 48th minute after midfielder Marco Etcheverry’s pass put him behind the defense.

"I knew (Etcheverry) was going to kick the ball, so I had already started making my run," Lassiter said. "The ball was there, and I'm just glad I was able to take my time and it ended up being the winning goal."

United now holds an 8-5 edge in the all-time regular-season series against the MetroStars, with Etcheverry providing either the game-winning goal or game-winning assist in six of those eight victories.

There were only four shots on goal during the match, three by United.

"True champions are able to win ugly at times, which we did," United coach Thomas Rongen said. "But a lot of credit goes to the MetroStars. They competed for every ball and gave us a hell of a battle."

The Metros were forced to play a man short after midfielder Billy Walsh drew a red card for a two-footed tackle on D.C. defender Jeff Agoos in the 65th minute.

"It makes me feel lousy to think I let a great team effort go to waste," Walsh said. "I know it looked dangerous, but I don’t think it was a red card foul."

D.C. United 1, MetroStars 0

Lineups: MetroStars - Mike Ammann, Mike Petke, Arley Palacios, Mark Semioli, Ramiro Corrales, Mike Sorber (Brian Kelly 58), Billy Walsh, Mike Duhaney (Petter Villegas 81), Miles Joseph, Mark Chung (Roy Myers 58), Eduardo Hurtado; D.C. United - Tom Presthus, Diego Sonora, Eddie Pope, Carlos Llamosa, Jeff Agoos, Richie Williams, Ben Olsen, Brian Kamler (Carey Talley 77), Marco Etcheverry, Jaime Moreno, Roy Lassiter.

D.C. United - Lassiter (Etcheverry, Moreno) 47.

Total shots: MetroStars 15 (Hurtado 4), D.C. United 13 (Lassiter 5). Shots on goal: MetroStars 1 (Petke 1), D.C. United 3 (Lassiter 2). Saves: MetroStars - Ammann 2; D.C. United - Presthus 1. Fouls: MetroStars 21 (Walsh 4), D.C. United 16 (Olsen 4). Offside: MetroStar 4, D.C. United 2. Corner kicks: MetroStars 10, D.C. United 3. Yellow card cautions: MetroStars - Petke 49, Myers 82, Semioli 85, Palacios 88; D.C. United - Kamler 35, Olsen 80, Etcheverry 85. Red card ejection: MetroStars - Walsh 65. Possession percentage: MetroStars 46%, D.C. United 54%.

Referee: Rich Grady. Referee's assistants: Del Rainho, Peter Kokolski. Attendance: 20,978 at Giants Stadium in East Rutherford, N.J. Weather: Clear, 50 degrees.

Columbus Crew 3, Tampa Bay Mutiny 2

TAMPA, Fla. -- Columbus Crew forward Brian McBride headed home the game winner in the 83d minute for a 3-2 victory over the Columbus Crew before 13,456 at Raymond James Stadium.

A Robert Warzycha corner kick set up McBride’s tally.

Goals by defender Todd Yeagley and forward Stern John twice gave Columbus (1-1, 3 points) one-goal leads. But midfielder Steve Ralston and substitute forward Musa Shannon each scored equalizing goals for Tampa Bay (0-2, 0 points), with Ralston striking in the 29th minute and Shannon converting in the 70th minute.

Columbus Crew 3, Tampa Bay Mutiny 2

Lineups: Tampa Bay - Andy Kirk, Dominic Kinnear, Jan Eriksson, R.T. Moore, Guillermo Jara (Eric Quill 87), Jorge Salcedo, Mauricio Ramos, Paul Dougherty, Steve Ralston, Alejandro Sequiera (Pete Marino 74), Jefferson Gottardi (Musa Shannon 61); Columbus - Mark Dougherty, Mike Lapper (Andy Williams 46), Michael Clark, Thomas Dooley (Jeff Cunningham 86), Todd Yeagley, Brian Maisonneuve (Rob Smith 66), Jason Farrell, Ansil Elcock, Robert Warzycha, Stern John, Brian McBride.

Columbus - Yeagley (Maisonneuve) 15;
Tampa Bay - Ralston (Kinnear) 29;
Columbus - John (Farrell, Elcock) 41;
Tampa Bay - Shannon (Dougherty) 65;
Columbus - McBride (Warzycha) 83.

Total shots: Tampa Bay 15 (Ramos 5), Columbus 15 (John 7). Shots on goal: Tampa Bay 4 (Ramos 2), Columbus 6 (John 3). Saves: Tampa Bay - Kirk 3; Columbus - Dougherty 2. Fouls: Tampa Bay 10 (Gottardi 4), Columbus 11 (Elcock 3). Offside: Tampa Bay 1, Columbus 5. Corner kicks: Tampa Bay 10, Columbus 5. Yellow card cautions: Tampa Bay - Jara 5, Eriksson 82; Columbus - Elcock 36, Farrell 67. Possession percentage: Tampa Bay 56%, Columbus 44%.

Referee: Paul Tamberino. Referee's assistants: Kermit Quisenberry, Glenn Prechac. Attendance: 13,456 at Raymond James Stadium in Tampa, Fla. Weather: Clear, 80 degrees.

Copyright© 1999 Davidson News Group. All Rights Reserved