USL directory



Rochester regains title from Thunder 3-1.

ROCHESTER, N.Y. (Saturday, September 30, 2000) -- The Rochester Raging Rhinos regained the A-League title it lost last year, using goals by Dan Stebbins, Yari Allnut and Onandi Lowe, plus two assists from Martin Nash, to defeat the Minnesota Thunder 3-1 tonight before 14,276 at Frontier Field.

Rochester, the 1998 A-League champion, lost the title to Minnesota last year, but was in top form to regain the crown, jumping to a 3-0 lead. The 3-1 score in the third straight final between these two teams matched the final count over the Thunder in 1998.

Stebbins headed home a Nash cross for a 1-0 lead in the 13th minute.

Allnutt made it 2-0 when he banged home a pass from Scott Schweitzer in the 37th minute.

Lowe netted another Nash assist to increase the advantage to 3-0 in the 77th minute.

A minute later, Chugger Adair put a goal on the board for the Thunder.

The Rhinos will be featured in a parade through downtown Rochester on Monday at noon with a rally in front of City Hall at 12:45.

Rochester Raging Rhinos 3, Minnesota Thunder 1

Lineups: Minnesota - John Swallen, Brian Winters, Mark Schulte, (Nate Winkel 84), Eric Otto, (Paul Schneider 73), Mike Gentile, Morgan Zeba, John Coughlin, Soian Mladenov, John Menyonger, Don Gramenz, Chugger Adair. Rochester - Scott Vallow, Craig Demmin, Scott Schweitzer, Mali Walton, Carlos Zavala, (Tim Hardy 60), Yari Allnutt, Bill sedgewick, Martin Nash, (Nate Daligcon 83), Lenin Steenkamp, Dan Stebbins 8).

Rochester - Stebbins (Nash) 14.
Rochester - Allnut (Schweitzer) 37.
Rochester - Lowe (Nash) 77.
Minnesota - Adair (Menyongar) 78.

Shots: Minnesota 11, Rochester 15. Saves: Minnesota 4, Rochester 4. Corner kicks: Minnesota 4, Rochester 5. Fouls: Minnesota 19, Rochester 19. Offside: Minnesota n/a, Rochester n/a. Yellow card cautions: Rochester - Malachino 9, Snape 26, Scicluna 60.

Attendance: 14,276 at Frontier Field in Rochester, N.Y.

©Copyright 2000 All Rights Reserved